IIFA 2017: Shahid Kapoor, Alia Bhatt win Best Actor awards, here’s the complete list of winners

Shahid Kapoor and Alia Bhatt were on Saturday named Best Actors at the 18th edition of the IIFA Awards, for their remarkable work in ‘Udta Punjab’. Diljit Dosanjh also won the best debut actor male for the same film.

Both Shahid and Alia were emotional about winning the award for a film which made its way to the big screen after fighting the censor board, and let mainstream performers like them take up something risky.

Diljit too thanked his fans for support in a Twitter post.

“Love my fans. Guys this is all because of you. Thanks team IIFA and ‘Udta Punjab’,” he tweeted.

Katrina Kaif gave away the award to Shahid, while Varun Dhawan announced Alia as the Best Actor – Female at the event, held at the Metlife Stadium in New York.

The Best Picture honour went to ‘Neerja’, based on the real life story of Neerja Bhanot, an air hostess who lost her life while trying to save others on a hijacked flight at Karachi.

Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury walked away with the Best Direction award for ‘Pink’, a hard-hitting drama which put forth the message that when a woman says no, it is a no.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Best Film: Neerja

Best Director: AnirudhRoy Chaudhary for Pink

Best Actor (Male): Shahid Kapoor for Udta Punjab

Best Actor (Female): Alia Bhatt for Udta Punjab

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female): Shabana Azmi for Neerja

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Male): Anupam Kher for MS Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Debutant (Female): Disha Patani for M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Debut (Male): Diljit Dosanjh for Udta Punjab

Best Lyricist: Amitabh Bhattacharya for the song Channa Mere Ya from Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Singer (Male): Amit Mishra for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Singer (Female): Kanika Kapoor for Udta Punjab, Tulsi Kumar for Airlift

Best Music Direction: Pritam for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Actor In Comic Role: Varun Dhawan for Dishoom

Myntra Style Icon Award: Alia Bhatt

IIFA Woman Of The Year: Tapsee Pannu

Award for Best Director – Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury for Pink. #IIFA2017 pic.twitter.com/1xDoISHqBy

— IIFA Awards (@IIFA) July 16, 2017



Source: Mid-Day

Share Now